

## **Cemetery Regulations**

- All persons walking through cemeteries must keep on the pathways and not trespass on lots except for gaining access to their own lot.
- Dog owners must abide by the town Leash Law and clean up any excrement after their dogs.
- The owners must ensure the dogs do not trespass on any graves.

There will be a fifty dollar (\$50.00) fine imposed against individuals found in violation of any of the general cemetery regulations.

There will be a separate fine imposed against individuals found in violation of Town leash law and/or found in violation of Massachusetts General law Chapter 140, Section 137: Registration and licensing of dogs.

The fine schedule for both leash law and licensing falls under Massachusetts General Law Chapter 140 Section Section 173A: Violation of dog control laws; non-criminal disposition

## Section 173A states:

The fine for the first offense committed by a person shall be \$50. The fine for a second offense shall be \$100. The fine for a third offense shall be \$300. For a fourth or subsequent offense, the fine shall be \$500, and the municipality may order the animal spayed or neutered.